Latest two-minute report says Marcus Smart’s draw 3 was not a shooting foul

The NBA has released the latest two-minute report of the Boston Celtics’ Game 3 loss to the Milwaukee Bucks. He lists five incorrect calls in the final two minutes of the game.

First, the league determined it should have been a foul on Giannis Antetokounmpo. At the end of the clip, after Antetokounmpo’s lay-up attempt, he grabbed Al Horford’s arm, preventing him from running onto the court.

That game ended in two free throws for Jaylen Brown, so it didn’t hurt the Celtics too much. However, the league still considered it an incorrect no-call.


This play was also ruled as an incorrect no-call. The league said Brown made contact with Antetokounmpo while he was shooting and before the shot clock expired.

Instead of a shooting foul, that possession ended in a Bucks shot clock violation, handing possession to the Celtics.


It was perhaps the biggest missed call of the game, as the league ruled Holiday should have been called for a five-second violation on that inbound play.

The Bucks would score a bucket of go-ahead on ensuing possession thanks to a layup from Antetokounmpo. However, according to the league, Boston should have gained possession after Holiday failed to get the ball in in time.


On that play, the league ruled that Horford should have been called for a three-second defensive violation, as he was standing in the paint without actively guarding an opponent.

In turn, the Bucks would have gotten a technical free throw. Instead, the game continues without any penalty.


The following is one of the pieces that many have railed against. And as many predicted, the league said it was an incorrect no-call. However, they ruled that a foul should have been called on Tatum for pulling Holiday down, causing him to lose his dribble.

This was the explanation given in the L2M: “As Tatum (BOS) falls to the ground, he grabs Holiday’s arm (MIL) and causes her to lose control of her dribbling.”

However, it may have helped Boston. Since the Celtics had a foul to give, a call would have forced the Bucks to re-enter the ball. Instead, Holiday hit what would be the winning bucket.


Now, that’s the game most people probably wonder the most about, but the league ruled there was nothing wrong with that call. L2M said the referees were right to call it a no-shot foul.

Here is the explanation given: “Holiday (MIL) commits a fault by coming into contact with the arms of Smart (BOS) before he brings the ball back towards the basket. A personal foul is correctly called.

Here the keywords are “before he brings the ball up”. The league ruled that Holiday’s contact with Smart occurred before he got on his shooting move.

In reality, the L2M means nothing. Even if the league had said it should have called a foul on vacation and Smart should have fired three free throws, it wouldn’t have mattered. The Celtics still lost, and the result would not have been changed.

Amanda J. Marsh